24 February 2018
AsiaNews.it Twitter AsiaNews.it Facebook
Geographic areas

  • > Africa
  • > Central Asia
  • > Europe
  • > Middle East
  • > Nord America
  • > North Asia
  • > South Asia
  • > South East Asia
  • > South West Asia
  • > Sud America
  • > East Asia

  • » 09/09/2005, 00.00


    Pope appoints members for Synod on the Eucharist

    Vatican City (AsiaNews/CWN) – Pope Benedict XVI has hand-picked 36 church figures to join more than 200 participants for the upcoming Synod of Bishops on the Eucharist.

    The eleventh General Ordinary Assembly of the Synod of Bishops will convene from 2 to 23 October and it will focus on "The Eucharist: Source and Summit of the Life and Mission of the Church". The theme had been chosen by John Paul II and was confirmed by Benedict XVI.

    Most members of the Synod are elected representatives of the world's Episcopal Conferences. The Pope himself has chosen 34 bishops and two priests who head lay movements. Among the latest 36 nominees, there are four bishops from the People's Republic of China including – for the first time – one underground bishop who is "not recognized" by Beijing. 

    The Pope has yet to name observers to attend the Synod sessions, including lay Catholics and representatives of other Christian groups. Benedict XVI also invited Cardinal Joachim Meisner of Cologne, the host city of the recent World Youth Day celebration; and Cardinal George Pell of Sydney, where World Youth Day will be held in 2008.

    The list, distributed yesterday by the Holy See press office, includes several prelates from the Roman Curia as well as representatives of the Episcopal Conferences and bishops from all five continents. The priests who lead two lay movements – Opus Dei and Communion and Liberation – are included, as is the head of the Jesuit order. Communities of the eastern rite will be represented by prelates from the Syro-Malabar, Maronite, Ukrainian, and Melkite churches.

    The president-delegates for the Synod will be Cardinal Francis Arinze, prefect of the Congregation for Divine Worship; Cardinal Juan Sandoval Iniguez of Guadalajara (Mexico); and Cardinal Telesphore Placidus Toppo of Ranchi (India). The reporter-general will be Cardinal Angelo Scola, Patriarch of Venice, while the secretary-general will be Archbishop Roland Minnerath of Dijon (France). All were named by Pope Benedict XVI in March.

    Below we reproduce the full list of participants made public yesterday:


    Cardinal Georges Cottier, theologian to the pontifical household

    Cardinal Ivan Dias of Bombay, India

    Cardinal Francisco Javier Errazuriz Ossa of Santiago, Chile, the president of the Latin American bishops' conference (CELAM)

    Cardinal Francesco Marchisano, archpriest of St. Peter's Basilica

    Cardinal Jorge Medina Estevez, former prefect of the Congregation for Divine Worship

    Cardinal Joachim Meisner of Cologne, Germany

    Cardinal Miguel Obando y Bravo of Managua, Nicaragua

    Cardinal Marc Ouellet of Quebec, Canada

    Cardinal George Pell of Sydney, Australia

    Cardinal Vinko Puljic of Sarajevo, Bosnia-Herzegovina

    Cardinal Adrianus Johannes Simonis of Utrecht, Netherlands

    Cardinal Edmund Szoka, president of the Vatican city-state

    Cardinal Jean-Louis Tauran, Vatican archivist

    Cardinal Jozef Tomko, president of the pontifical committee for international Eucharistic congresses


    Archbishop Joseph Mohsen Béchara of Antelias, Lebanon (Maronite)

    Archbishop Cyrille Salim Bustros of Newton, US (Melkite)

    Archbishop Francesco Cacucci of Bari, Italy

    Archbishop Oswald Thomas Colman Gomis of Colombo, Sri Lanka, the president of the federal of Asian episcopal conferences (FABC)

    Archbishop Anthony Li Duan of Xian, China

    Archbishop John Olorunfemi Onaiyekan of Abuja, Nigeria, the president of the symposium of episocopal conferences of Africa and Madagascar (SCEAM)

    Archbishop Joseph Pawathil of Changanacherry, India (Syro-Malabar)

    Archbishop Stefan Soroka of Philadelphia, US (Ukrainian)

    Archbishop Paul Verdzekov of Bamenda, Cameroon


    Bishop Denis Browne of Hamilton, New Zealand, the president of the federation of episcopal conferences of Oceania

    Bishop Jean-Louis Brugues of Angers, France

    Bishop Amadée Grab of Chur, Switzerland, the president of the council of European bishops' conferences (COMECE)

    Bishop Louis Jin Luxian of Shanghai, China

    Bishop Luke Li Jingfen of Fengxiang, China

    Bishop Arthur Roche of Leeds, England

    Bishop Paul Shan Kuo-his of Kaohsiung, Taiwan

    Bishop Menghisteab Tesfamariam of Asmara, Eritrea

    Bishop Joseph Wei Jingyi of Qiqihar, China

    Bishop Joseph Zen Ze-Kiun of Hong Kong, China


    Msgr. Javier Echevarria Rodriguez, the prelate of Opus Dei

    Father Julian Carron, the president of Communion and Liberation

    Father Peter-Hans Kolvenbach superior general of the Society of Jesus

    e-mail this to a friend Printable version

    See also

    Synod on the Eucharist at the centre of the Church and the world

    Christians diminish celebrations when they exalt "the works of man", more than the "works of God".  The world needs to learn from the Eucharist what solidarity is.

    25/09/2005 VATICAN
    The Pope's Angelus address: "Imitate Mother Teresa, an example of active and often heroic charity".

    22/12/2005 VATICAN
    Pope: Christ's Christmas and 2005 "which is about to set"

    Pope says Eucharist is antidote to Christians' lukewarm faith and atheism in the world

    In the opening mass of the Synod of the Eucharist, Benedict XVI put the Church in the west on guard against its possible disappearance. And he reminded the world that where God is marginalized, there is only violence and injustice.

    16/09/2005 CHINA – VATICAN
    Negotiations still on for Chinese bishops' Rome visit
    Ye Xiaowen, director of the State Bureau of Religious Affairs, tones down rhetoric.

    Editor's choices

    Snehonir, the 'house of tenderness' for the disabled (photos)

    Founded 25 years ago by Shanti Rani Sisters and PIME missionaries in Rajshahi, the facility is open to the mentally and physically disabled, deaf, blind, orphans, poor, and abandoned. The guiding principle is to start them in life.

    Defeated on ice, but 'first' in history, joint Korean hockey team players hug

    After losing to Sweden in their last match, the Korean team ends up in seventh place. Players burst into tears at their imminent separation. "Politicians made that executive decision [to have a joint team]. Our players and staff are the ones that made it work,” said the team’s proud Canadian coach. One South Korean athlete hopes the country is proud of them. "It was bigger than hockey."


    AsiaNews monthly magazine (in Italian) is free.


    News feed

    Canale RSSRSS channel 


    IRAN 2016 Banner

    2003 © All rights reserved - AsiaNews C.F. e P.Iva: 00889190153 - GLACOM®