03/17/2020, 09.19
Send to a friend

Hong Kong quarantines foreigners. Restrictions in many countries

180 thousand cases worldwide.  Infections decrease in China;  increase in Europe and the United States.  Borders in many Asian states have closed.  Similar restrictions also in the USA, the European Union, Canada and Russia.


Hong Kong (AsiaNews / Agencies) - Hong Kong is introducing restrictions on entry from abroad to combat coronavirus.  As of March 19, all travelers arriving in the autonomous city from other countries will be quarantined or undergo medical check-ups for the next two weeks.  These measures will not apply to arrivals from Macau and Taiwan;  those arriving from China are required to isolate themselves from their homes.  In the past week, the former British colony has had 57 new cases of contagion, 50 of which have come from other states.

The epidemic crisis that started in China has turned into a pandemic.  To date, there are about 180 thousand cases of infection worldwide, with over 7 thousand deaths and 80 thousand hospitalized.  Yesterday, only 21 new infections were recorded in China, most imported from abroad, and 13 deaths.  In Hubei, the epicenter of lung infection, there was only one official case.  Europe and the United States have become the main expansion front of the virus: Italy and Spain are respectively the second and fourth most affected countries.

Strong restrictions on arrivals from abroad have been introduced by many states.  Japan forbids entry to those who come from China, South Korea, Iran and Italy, and stayed in these countries for 14 days before arrival.  Seoul prevents travelers from Hubei from entering.  Visitors from China, South Korea, Italy, France, Germany and Spain cannot enter Singapore.  Malaysia will not allow any foreign nationals to enter the country until March 31st.  India will ban entry from March 18 to those arriving from the European Union, the United Kingdom and Turkey.

Outside Asia, the United States has blocked links with China and Europe.  Canada has closed its borders to foreigners and those who do not reside on national territory.  The EU will close its borders in the next few days and block connections with the rest of the world for a month.  THe only entry to Russia will be from Finland and Azerbaijan.

Send to a friend
Printable version
See also
Coronavirus: the countries that have cut or reduced links with China
11/02/2020 09:57
Covid emergency: Tokyo and Beijing resume commercial flights without quarantine
20/10/2020 09:31
Coronavirus: exclusion from WHO harms Taiwan
08/02/2020 09:00
Singapore: World’s no. 1 airport in deep crisis
05/10/2020 11:24
Coronavirus crisis: Cathay Pacific axes 8,500 jobs to survive
21/10/2020 09:24


Subscribe to Asia News updates or change your preferences

Subscribe now
“L’Asia: ecco il nostro comune compito per il terzo millennio!” - Giovanni Paolo II, da “Alzatevi, andiamo”