09/08/2006, 00.00
Send to a friend

Central Asian nations sign nuclear weapons-free zone treaty

Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan and Turkmenistan ban the production, acquisition and deployment of nuclear weapons in their territories. Nuclear energy for peaceful purposes is allowed.

Moscow (AsiaNews/Agencies) – Five former Soviet republics—Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan and Turkmenistan—signed a treaty creating a zone free of nuclear weapons in Central Asia on Friday in Semipalatinsk, a nuclear test site used by the former Soviet Union in eastern Kazakhstan.

By this treaty the parties commit themselves to ban the production, acquisition and deployment of nuclear weapons and its components, as well as other nuclear explosive devices, in their respective territories.

The treaty does not however prohibit the use of nuclear energy for peaceful purposes.

The five Central Asian countries worked on the treaty for nine years with the strong support and under the auspices of the United Nations.

Similar zones have been established in South America, Africa, and the Pacific Ocean.

Send to a friend
Printable version
See also
EU delegation in Central Asia talking human rights and oil
Cotton in Central Asia: a story of poverty, environmental degradation and labour exploitation
Central Asia, children who inherit ruling power from fathers
16/02/2021 10:43
Moscow boosts relations with Central Asia, to exclusion of the US
19/10/2020 10:40
Central Asia’s future has many opportunities, but needs cooperation
06/04/2017 20:40


Subscribe to Asia News updates or change your preferences

Subscribe now
“L’Asia: ecco il nostro comune compito per il terzo millennio!” - Giovanni Paolo II, da “Alzatevi, andiamo”